The “Adopt a Writer” Program

I have many friends who are artists of one type or another (you all know who you are and what you do, so I won’t list it all right now…it would take up most of my blog, you bunch of creative geniuses, you!), and I like to do whatever I can to support them. This blog is in hopes that there are some of you out there who would like to support me in my creative endeavours. To make this as easy as possible, I thought I’d put together a list of suggestions of how one might go about doing such a thing.

Option 1 – Pay all of my living expenses so I can write full-time. If you are considering this, God bless you, but I have to let you know that I have a wife, 2 children, a cat and a small dog, and we all need tending. And did I mention that one child is a sixteen-year-old boy who eats more than his weight in food each day, much like a Southern short-tailed shrew, except bigger? I’ll understand if none of you choose this option, but I’ll still keep my fingers crossed.

Option 2 – Can’t afford to pay all of our living expenses? How about some really good writing classes? Still too much money, huh. It was worth a try.

Option 3 – Buy a hard copy of my short story collection Backroads and Alleyways” from Lulu.com or for the low, low price of $9.74 + shipping. Much appreciated if you decide to buy, but even more so if you leave a review and a rating then share it with your friends on Facebook, Twitter, etc.! Will also soon be available through Amazon’s Createspace.

Option 4 – Got too many darned books lying around already? Hate the idea of killing trees for the pleasure of reading some kick-ass short fiction? Well have I got good news for you! “Backroads and Alleyways” is also available through Smashwords, and Kindle as a download suitable for pretty much any device on which you can read, including e-readers, computers and phones! Again, if you download, please leave a review/rating then share it with your friends as this is often how other readers decide what they want to download. The best news? The download is only $0.99! (I think that’s about 71p if you’re downloading from Kindle in the UK). Join the digital revolution!

Option 5 – $0.99 still too much money? There’s even an option for you! Two of my stories that are included in the eight story “Backroads and Alleyways” collection are available for free at Smashwords. Try out Yardwork and “Darkness Stalks the Night” at  no obligation to you. If you decide you like them, you can always download the entire collection. Again, please leave a review and star-rating so others can find my work. And don’t forget to share!

Option 6 – Follow me on Facebook, Twitter and read my blog (didn’t really need a link for that, did I? We’re already here!)

Option 7 – Be a reader for me. I’m always in need of people to vet my work. I have 2 novels in the reading stage now and several others I’m writing and like to have them read before I send them to a professional editor. If this is something that interest you, let me know.

Option 8 – Sit at home, twiddle you thumbs, watch paint dry and have no fun.

To everyone who chooses anything other than option 8, I give my thanks. At every possible opportunity, I will be there at your shows, buying/flogging your wares, reading/listening to/looking at your stuff and sharing your links.

Most of all, I hope you truly enjoy what you read, both here and if you decide to download my stories! Watch for a couple of novels coming in the near future.

One thought on “The “Adopt a Writer” Program

Leave a Reply

