The Problem With Blogs

It’s been a little longer than I had intended since my last post, so I’ve been putting some thought to the whole topic of blogging and here’s what I came up with: the problem with blogs…

You have to do them.

As I’ve alluded to in previous posts, I’m a busy guy: job, family, long commute to work, going to the gym (on my lunch break to fit it in), writing, editing, promotion. Whenever I have a few minutes to sit at a computer, I want to use my time as  best I can. Now, I’m not saying writing a blog isn’t a worthwhile endeavour — quite the opposite, really. I know there are many benefits to doing it, and all of them are why I decided to start blogging, but when you’re half way through writing two novels and have four or five more either outlined or in the planning stages, it’s difficult to justify putting fingers to keyboard and producing words for anything but those babies who demand my attention.

Of course, it could simply be that I don’t have anything interesting to say, but I’d never admit that out loud. If I can’t think of anything interesting, I can always just whine and complain a bit, right?

I’ll get better and interesting-er, I promise. Our house is for sale, so that will soon solve the problem of the commute (anyone looking to buy a house in Chemainus… let’s talk). With more time on my hands, I promise to take better care of my blog, my red-headed step-child.

Keep coming back, okay?

Leave a Reply

