How You Can Help

As some of you may already know, I will be running a promotion on Kindle this weekend giving away my urban fantasy novel, “On Unfaithful Wings”, for free.  I’m here to ask for your help.

“But Bruce, why give your novel away? Aren’t you losing money that way?” No. The most effective way to ‘advertise’ on Kindle is by having more people ‘buy’ your book, whether it’s paid or free. Having more copies downloaded gets you added on popularity lists and makes it easier for buyers to find you. More people downloading also gets the book added to more ‘also-bought’ lists (whenever you go to a book’s page, there is a list under it of other books people who bought this book also bought. More downlaods=more potential lists).

“So running a free promotion can add up to more sales?” Yes. Having been watching the best-sellers lists on Kindle for a few weeks now and reading extensively in the writers’ cafe on the Kindle Boards (forums for writers who have published on Kindle), it is easy to see that a high ranking on the free list equates to good sales once the book goes back to a paid listing.

“Will it help you if I download the book during your promotion? When is it?” Yes, downloading my book is one of the things you can do to help. It will be running free on Kindle March 23-25.

“But what if I don’t have a Kindle?” It’s okay, you can still download it. Kindle gives you the option to download it to your computer or you can get a Kindle app for your mobile device. You don’t even have to read it of you don’t want to, just downloading it will help.

“What if I don’t like to read?” You like me, don’t you? Like I said, you don’t have to read it.

“Is there anything else I can do to help?” I’m glad you asked. There are a few other ways you can help me make this free promo as successful as possible. If we are already friends on Facebook, keep an eye open for any updates regarding the promotion and share them. If you don’t see any, go to my profile page and you can share them from there. If we’re not friends of FB yet, find me and ask, I’d be happy to add you. If you follow me on twitter, please retweet any updates about the promo (I’ll hashtag them all #icarus). If you are on twitter but don’t follow me, please start and then follow the above instructions.  (-:

“But I don’t want to spam everyone.” Me neither. There will be a little bit of blatant promo, but mostly I’ll be updating what I’m up to and how things are going. I’ll try to keep it interesting for everyone.

“Anything else I can do?” You could share a link to this blog with anyone you know who might be willing to help.  You can cross your fingers for me from 12:01am PST on March 23 until 11:59pm on March 25. Before the 23rd, you can go to the Kindle page for “On Unfaithful Wings” and click the like button near the title, then scroll down the page and click the tick boxes for the tags (below the reviews. These are some of the things Kindle’s search engine uses when people are looking for things).

Finally, if you download the book and do actually read it, you can go back and leave a brief review.

“What do I get out of this?” The knowledge that you’ve done a good deed. I was going offer my firstborn, but he’s a buff 17 year-old, so he might put up a fight. Seriously though, if I can ever help any of you out with promo, let me know – I’m only a message away.

Thanks everyone.

Bruce

3 thoughts on “How You Can Help

  1. I will definitely be downloading it and spreading the word. Anything to help out a fellow author. I have a question have you talked to Phil at thekindledailydeal@gmail.com? If you send him an email and what days your book will be free he’ll put it up and it’ll cycle through. He has over 10k followers so lots of people will see it there as well.

Leave a Reply

