Watching…Waiting…Hoping

The debates have raged over whether giving books away through Amazon’s KDP Select program is a good idea or not. Some argue that giving away something you worked so hard at devalues the process. Others don’t like the idea of being exclusive to one platform. Still others swear by it. I can only give my opinion based on my own situation and experience. To recap: I did a three-day free promotion for my urban fantasy novel, “On Unfaithful Wings”, March 23-25 and gave away 8400 copies. My sales for the month of March prior to the giveaway totalled a world-toppling 11. Over the first week post-promo, I sold 77 books. Since then, I’ve sold another 53. Those aren’t the kind of numbers that will allow me to quit my day job and write full-time but, if my math is any good, I will have sold more than 5 times as many copies this month as I would have in March without the promo.

For me, that constitutes a success. So, I’m doing it again toady and tomorrow (April 26-27), which is where the title of this post comes in.

Watching… I will spend a great deal of my time (even though I’ll be at work – don’t tell my boss) keeping an eye on the number of freebies downloaded throughout the next two days. The key to success in a free promo is to have a high number of downloads so that you climb the popularity lists, thereby making your book easier to find. The hope is that, after the promo, it remains easier to find and generates more paid sales.

Waiting… My observations have shown that books listed in the free section of Pixel of Ink and/or eReader News Today have the best chance of climbing high on the Kindle charts. These two sites have hundreds of thousands of followers and, if you’re listed in both, it pretty much guarantees charting in the top 20. The problem? You don’t know if they will pick your book up or not. There are thousands free every day and both only list a handful. I don’t know how they choose and, to the best of my knowledge, there is no way to make sure you get on their listings (if anyone knows how,please let me in on it). So I’ll be waiting to see if they pick me.

Hoping… I’ve done one thing differently this time in that I’ve employed the services of a company called Book Tweeting Service. Guess what they do? For a fee ($57 for 2 days), they tweet your promo on their different twitter accounts (@TweetYourBooks, @WriteIntoPrint, @ukeditor, @TheAuthorsClub, @TheBookBuzzers, @PukkaEpub) with over 60000 followers. I don’t know if this will have much effect but, for $60, I thought it was worth a try. I’ll let you know how that goes.

So there, in a nutshell, is how I’ll live my next two days. Watching the downloads, waiting to see if I’ll be listed, hoping the things I’ve done will be effective.

What ever happened to writing?

4 thoughts on “Watching…Waiting…Hoping

  1. You took control of your destiny, instead of paying a publisher a percentage to handle that stuff, you do it yourself and you can reap a bigger reward. Very entrepreneurial of you and I applaud it.

Leave a Reply

