These Are The Days Of Miracle And Wonder

It’s been a while since the last time I posted (over 2 weeks if you don’t count Emily Ward taking things over for a day).

“Why?” you might wonder aloud, and rightfully so. “Why would an independent author who relies so much on interaction with people to sell books neglect his blog for an extended period? It says right in the name of the blog: struggling writer. Perhaps this is why, Bruce.”

Perhaps. But I do have an excuse and, in my world, at least, it’s a doozie.

You see, on the 3rd of October, 2012, I lost my job. Suddenly, inexplicably, with no notice or hint, I found myself unemployed. Not laid off. Not downsized. The business didn’t close. No, the owners decided I no longer fit with their plans anymore and cut me a pretty decent cheque to stop working for them. It didn’t just catch me off-guard, but everyone I worked with, especially the dozen or so people who asked me when I’d be getting the general manager’s position when he quit just a few months before.

See how happy I look?

Now I know  conventional wisdom says that I should be all broken up about being “let go”, perhaps take a couple of days off, then beat the pavement to find another job, but I don’t want to live that conventional life. In fact, I haven’t wanted to live it for quite some time. My wife and I (for those of you who don’t know me and haven’t bothered to read the about page, my wife is a bit of a big deal burlesque performer here in Victoria) have been scheming for a while trying to figure out how to get me out of a job and into the things I really want to do. And now it has been thrust upon me. The universe works in mysterious ways.

I’m convinced the owner has had a few moments of ponderment in which he thought to himself “why did I do that again?”. Because the universe made you.

So you’re probably thinking to yourself: “What’s in it for me?” The answer is the same for you as it is for me: more and better. Let me give you some examples:

Over the last 3 days (that’s Fri-Sun as I write this) I wrote over 12500 words on my current work-in-progress. That’s more than  I would have written in 3 weeks before the days of miracle and wonder began. That means the first draft of Spirit of the King (Khirro’s Journey Book 2), which I was hoping to finish by mid-November, could be done as early as the end of this week (the end of next at the latest). Finishing that means I can get started on the next Icarus Fell novel (Secrets of the Hanged Man – I’ve been planning), not to mention the YA fantasy I’ve been aching to do, and the fairy story I want to write with my 11-year-old daughter, and the one about the guy with no magic, and…I digress.

Today, I took the day off from writing. I didn’t take the day off, however. Instead, I finished formatting all three of my novels for CreateSpace, so as soon as I can get my cover guy to format the covers for print, they will be available. And I did some research and planning for an erotica website my wife and I want to do. And I researched better ways to promo. And I wrote two blog posts. And I researched how to make my blog and my social media better. I even folded the laundry.

All of this time, all of this focus, means more novels, better posts, higher quality. I can spend time looking for ways to help other people. Things are going to be different around here. It’s good for me and it’s good for you. It all starts with my very next post when I’m going to do something I’ve never done before: review a book. And watch for the name of my blog to change. I’m done with struggling.

So you see, dear friends, the unfortunate incident of me being ‘retired’ is not unfortunate at all. It’s the beginning of something wonderful. Truly, these are the days of miracle and wonder.

36 thoughts on “These Are The Days Of Miracle And Wonder

  1. Scary and exciting. Your attitude will let you make the most of this thrilling new chapter in your life. Writing full time can be tenuous and scary at times—but worth it.

  2. Right on! I wish you all the best, Bruce. I made a similar move at the end of September and I’m writing full-time myself now. I’m not being as productive as you are though, thanks for giving me some motivation. Good luck to you, my friend.

  3. Congrats and good luck, my friend. You will do well especially if you continue to write great books, like the Icarus fell stories, I have enjoyed reading them. So again good luck and keep the updates coming on your new stage in life.

  4. Bruce, thanks for sharing your story. What a wonderful, positive take you have on what many others would have had a pity party for. It’s a special talent to be able to see the silver lining as you are able to do. And 12500 words in a weekend! You are King of the Keyboard! (Very,very inspiring. )Good luck and best wishes for success to you.

  5. Bruce, I wish you all the best. I don’t want to live a conventional life either. I haven’t been very productive lately with my writing or marketing for a number of reasons. In fact, it’s been discouraging to play to an empty audience, and so I find myself posting less frequently. In addition, life has a way of throwing a wrench into one’s plans, which makes it tough to focus. Yet, after reading your blog it has reaffirmed my belief that it is the visionary’s responsibility to keep their dreams alive. I hope yours continues to thrive and grow!

    1. If you build it, they will come.
      Writing is a lonely business, we just have to find ways to keep at it no matter what. I try to live by the rule ‘write every day’. It doesn’t say ‘write well every day’ or write something worthwhile every day’, just write. I find it’s like working out: those first few times you go to the gym, it hurts, but once your body gets used to it, you start to push yourself harder.
      Push yourself, Shykia!

  6. Congratulations! Always seems weird saying Congrats in this situation but when it is where you want to be then it is always the right word 🙂 I wish you the best of luck in all your future endevours and full steam ahead!

  7. I fluctuate between extreme fear that I will too be thrust from my 9 – 5, and extreme desire to be thrust from my 9 – 5. What keeps me toiling away is that I don’t have any back-up income as I build my writing empire. If I don’t bring in the bacon, the goober (that’s my daughter) and I don’t eat. Sigh.

    Congratulations though and YEAH for the Universe turning you out into your purpose and dreams :-). Looking forward to following you as you rise to your success.

    1. I know the feeling. That’s exactly where I’ve been for years, but the universe made circumstances work out, so now it’s pedal to the metal to make sure it stays this way.
      Did you notice I changed the tag line of the blog? No more struggling!

  8. Good morning Bruce~ I read this post by my friend Martin and I have to say I too connect with you. I have had this happen a few times in my life where, at first glance, that which appears to be the uncomfortable end is actually a beautiful beginning. As someone who facilitates a writers group, works at a library, loves to write and procastinates on submissions and completing works in progress I found your post inspiring. Thank you for sharing.

    1. I’m glad you felt inspired, Leah. I, too, find procrastination a seductive mistress at times, but we just ahve to learn to put that woman in her place! Keep writing and thanks for the encouragement!

  9. Exciting! Although my passion is the writing, I still juggle it with the real world job. I must say I was indeed envious when you stated how many words you had written in those three days. Go you!! Live the dream, man.

  10. New seasons is always exciting. It gives you clarity and open the mind to think differently. “Think out of the box” a cliche but never a less true. Really hope this work out. Remember take it day by day. The rest will follow. From a person who walk the same path.

  11. Best of luck to you, Bruce! You’ve definitely got the right mindset for entering an exciting new chapter of your life, and I’ll be happy to help you out (in a remote, virtual sense, at least) as best as I can. =D

  12. Congratulations on your writing progress. I love how you’re making “lemonade when life gives you lemons.” Inspirational! Thank you for sharing. I wish you much success in following your dreams.

Leave a Reply

