The Next Big Thing Blog Hop (Redux)

I know I just did the Next Big Thing Blog Hop two weeks ago, but I got asked a second time and, since I currently have  two works-in-progress, I thought maybe I should go again. That plus the fact I have difficulty saying no (if you don’t believe me, just have a look in my wife’s shoe closet!).

This time around, it was the talented Siggy Buckley who invited me to participate. Siggy is one of those wonderful people who does so much to help other authors, there was no way I could even consider turning her down. She did the Next Big Thing last week, so make sure you go check out what is going on in Siggy’s world: http://www.siggybuckley.blogspot.ca/ . Go ahead, I’ll wait for you…

Okay, now you’re back, here’s a quick overview of the Next Big Thing Blog Hop for those of you who haven’t bumped into it before. The whole thing began on She Writes about 112 years ago and has circled the world four times encompassing millions of authors (okay, I made all of that up except for the She Writes part). Each author involved answers questions about their current work-in-progress (or WIP as the cool kids call it; I don’t call it that) then tags other authors to do the same thing the following week, and so on. It will continue until every author in the world has done it or it causes an interruption in the time/space continuum and we all get transported back to the Cretaceous era, whichever comes first.

Enough about time travel and dinosaurs, on with the show.

1. What is the working title of your book?

Secrets of the Hanged Man (An Icarus Fell Novel)

***

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

Since it’s the third book in the series, I’ve been working with Icarus for a few years now and have a bit of a collection of ideas for books. The real genesis for this one came at the gym one day while I was on the elliptical trainer (where I do my best thinking).  I was thinking about how three different short stories I’d started could be combined to create one character, then started to think how that character could fit into the world of Icarus. The story grew from there.

***

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Dark urban fantasy

***

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie version?

Colin Farrell as Icarus. Tough for me to pick actors for Trevor and Scarecrow as they are in their teens and I don’t really know many teen actors. For Phinneas, I keep picturing Jude Law.

***

5. What is the one sentence synopsis for your book

Honestly, I’m not even 30000 words in. I’ve been more worried about figuring out what’s going to happen next than I have been a bout a synopsis. Maybe something like this: An ancient evil returns to our world and Icarus Fell is not only the one man who can stop it, he may be the one who awakened it. (That’s really got nothing to do with the book, but it doesn’t sound too bad).

***

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Sel-published, unless someone wants to offer me a heap of cash. Hello? Anyone?

***

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

It’s not done yet but, at my current pace, the first draft will take about six weeks.

***

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

The two comparisons that come up most often for my Icarus books are Mike Carey’s Felix Castor series and Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files. They bear some similarities to Richard Kadrey’s Sandman Slim series, as well.

***

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

That one half-hour stint on the elliptical trainer is responsible for the whole thing. If I’d done weights that day, I might not have fleshed out the Scarecrow character the way I did.

***

10. What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

I know that after the last book (All Who Wander Are Lost), people were expecting a particular storyline to follow it up (I can’t say what that would have been without spoiling things from the last book, so if you don’t know, go buy it and find out). This book is not that. This one actually has a little less emphasis on Icarus and more on Trevor and some new characters. But for those of you who were expecting that other storyline, don’t worry, it’s coming. At least, my version of it. Mwah ha ha.

***

So there you have it. Now comes the best part of the Next Big Thing Blog Hop where I get to introduce you to some fabulous writers you might not already know. Remember, their answers to these questions will be up next week, so make sure you check them out to see what they’re up to. I bet you that you find a new author to fall in love with!

Kim  Mutch Emerson

Mandy DeGeit

Martin Crosbie

Misty Harvey

 

One thought on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop (Redux)

Leave a Reply

