The Liebster Award

Okay, I admit it…I’ve gotten a little behind on my blogging. For the first time since I began this blog, I actually have more things to blog about than I have time (hopefully, some of you will be happy to know that the reason I’m behind is because I’m busy writing). To try to catch up, I’m going to begin with the Liebster Award handed to me by my friend, editor, and wonderful author, Ella Medler, back in December (see, told you I’m behind). Read on to find out what it’s all about.

Liebster Award

And the rules:

1. Thank the person who nominated you. Done…but thanks agin, Ella, for everything.

2. Post eleven random facts about yourself.

3. You answer the eleven questions asked by the person who nominated you.

4. You think of a new set of eleven questions and nominate eleven others to answer them.

—–

To start…eleven random facts about myself:

1. I share my birthdate with both Martin Luther King and Paul Stanley from KISS. I share my birth year with Penthouse Magazine, the Big Mac and man’s first steps on the moon.

2. I am six-foot two inches tall, which I learned recently makes me taller than 94% of the people in the world.

3. I played drums in a rock band in my youth and have a tattoo of Animal from the muppet show on my right shoulder-blade.

4. To this point in my life (you can figure out my age from above) I have never broken a bone and the only time I’ve had stitches is when I had my wisdom teeth out and when they removed my appendix.

5. I’m a metal head. Metallica, Iron Maiden, Queensryche and Shadows Fall are among my favourite bands, but I like most music (except country…sorry).

6. Though I’m Canadian, I use American spellings in my novels. It’s hard to remember to leave out all those u’s and double l’s.

7. If I could change one thing about myself, I would be able to sing well. I love to sing, but even I can’t stand to listen to myself.

8. I am a cat person, but we also have a dog and a hamster.

9. I’ve been shaving my head for about fifteen years–before it was the cool thing to do. Before that, I had long hair, though I’m not so sure it would all return now. I’ll never try it because I don’t want to find out.

10. I did very well in school but didn’t go to post-secondary education simply because I didn’t want to. Sometimes I regret it, often I don’t.

11. My wife is a burlesque performer and pin-up model. I call myself a trophy husband even though I know she is the good-looking one in the relationship. Trouble is, she’s also the brains and the creative one…doesn’t leave much for me.

—–

Ella’s eleven questions:

1. What did you last have for dinner? It was a lazy night, so I had chicken corn chowder.

2. If money were no object, would you fly to the moon? Absolutely. If money was no object, I’d do everything.

3. What was your bravest act in the last 12 months? Deciding to forgo traditional employment to be a full-time writer. When I say ‘living the dream’, I mean it…stress and all.

4. I don’t expect you to remember the title or author, but what was the plot of the worst book you ever read? That’s a tough one. I think it was about a monster who lived in the internet. I could actually tell you the author, but that wouldn’t be sporting.

5. What is the sport you wish you mastered to perfection? I’m Canadian, so I am bound by heritage to say hockey, though I can’t skate.

6. Where would you go to spend your last day on Earth? Where ever my wife and children are. Sorry if that sounds sappy, but I can’t think of anywhere else I’d want to be. The bunch of us would probably go to the beach.

7. What is the most romantic gesture you ever came up with for your loved one? Sorry, it’s not that kind of blog.

8. If possible, in what century would you rather have lived? Or is this one just fine for you? Century-wise, I’m good, though I should have been born fifteen years earlier so I could have experienced the 60s. I am convinced that I was a pirate in a previous life, though. That was fun.

9. If you had the chance, what new genre would you like to introduce? Describe it, please. Robot western erotica. Does it need more description than that?

10. What gadget couldn’t you live without and why? My laptop. I use it so much, I’ve forgotten what hand writing is. If I didn’t have it, how would I be a writer?

11. What is the most infuriating thing about today’s world, in your view? Really? I’m supposed to end with a tirade? Okay, I find it infuriating that, with all information at our fingertips, it is truly difficult to discern the truth about anything. Opinions, hearsay and plain old lies get circulated making it difficult for us all.

—–

The eleven questions for my nominees:

1. Who is the most famous person you’ve ever met?

2. What article of clothing could you not do without?

3. You have one meal left before you are put to death. What would you eat and what did you do to be condemned?

4. If you were a computer program, which one would you be?

5. What book have you read that you most wished you had written?

6. If you could only own one movie, which one would it be?

7. Sweet or savoury?

8. Would you rather give a speech in front of a large audience or touch your tongue to frozen metal?

9. If you had your choice, are you an early bird or a late riser?

10. You have a new pet and it is entirely up to you to name the beast. What kind of animal is it and what do you call it?

11. If you could recommend one non-fiction book, which one would it be?

—–

My nominees: (it’s all right to take your time, but please play along – I really am curious, so let me know when you post.)

Scott Bury

Autumn Birt

Chantal Boudreau

Kody Boye

Cassidy Frazee

Steven Montano

Linda Bolton

Alison Bruning

Vickie Johnstone

Brenda Perlin

Seumas Gallacher

 

Look forward to all your answers!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Wow – your dark side is seeping through into your questions, too. Explains a lot of your writing.

    Um… Not sure I’d want to read robot erotica, whether western or not! LOL

Leave a Reply

