I Didn’t Expect This…

Trust me, you'd recognize her if you saw her on the street.
Trust me, you’d recognize her if you saw her on the street.

As some of you may already know, my wife is a burlesque performer. In fact, in our little corner of the world, she is a bit of a big deal. She’s been in the paper more times than I can count, on posters, radio and TV…she’s pretty recognizable. As such, it’s not unusual for her to be, well, recognized. Pretty much every day someone we don’t know stops us and loves on her. It’s pretty cool, and makes sense because of what she does.

As a writer, I didn’t expect it to happen to me. But it did. Twice. In three days.

First, we out at a burlesque show, strictly as audience members and I was doing some promo for a show we are producing later this month. I started chatting with some people at one table and one of the women looks me in the eye and says:

“Are you Bruce?”

Usually, I get a bit nervous when a woman speaks words such as these, but I decided to fess up.

“Oh. I just started reading your book.”

Nice. Now, admittedly, that is not a huge surprise. Burlesque fans in the area know me and know I’m a writer, so it makes sense that some of them would decide to take a chance a pick up one of my books. I presume she was enjoying it because, if she wasn’t, would she have bothered to say something? I wouldn’t.

Then it happened again, but this is more impressive.

We have been trying unsuccessfully to sell our house which is actually in a town about an hour north of where we currently live. The market is a little slow and we have had more people inquiring to see if they could rent it than we’ve had interested in buying it. One woman got hold of me about renting and we emailed back and forth a couple of times and finally got together for her to look at the house. While we were there, this conversation took place:

“Oh, I saw your links to your books in your email. My husband has them on his Kobo.”Unknown

I think to myself: that’s nice…he followed my links, liked what he saw, and bought them. Score one for the email signature. So I asked her if that was what happened:

“He followed the links and bought them?”

“No, he had them already. He’s a big sci-fi and fantasy nut but finds it hard to find contemporary stuff that he likes. He really likes yours.”

Needless to say, I’ll be renting them my house.

 

6 thoughts on “I Didn’t Expect This…

    1. Truthfully, the dream has always been to be quietly wealthy, so I didn’t expect this. Now that I have had it happen, I’m adding signing breasts like a rock star to the dream! 🙂

  1. Laughed very hard at your blog, Bruce, probably because I could relate to the part at the end. When it does happen, and it’s very infrequent, I always try to play it cool and act like it happens all the time, but inside I’m reliving every nano-second in my head.
    Good job and I hope it starts happening more and more. Oh, and congrats on the new releases too!

    1. Thanks Martin. I’m so used to my wife being recognized while I stand off to the side, it really feels good when it happens to me. I met my new tenant’s husband for the first time last week and the first words out of his mouth were “I loved your books”…I gave him a month rent free. (just kidding)

Leave a Reply

