Attention Authors: Opportunity Knocks!

Over the past few weeks, I have been doing a great deal of pondering over the subjects of promotion and advertising. (To catch up, you can read my Guild of Dreams posts here, here and here). Now, I am like most indie authors…I don’t really like the promotion side of what I do–I would much rather be writing and editing–but I also see it as a necessary evil. Let’s face it, when you’re a guy supporting a family of four as a full-time writer, you’ve got to pay some attention.

During my time looking at different venues for advertising and promotion, I have also come upon other ways of creating interest and generating sales, two of which I plan to undertake…but I can’t do it alone. I’m not looking for help per se (at least, I don’t think I am), but definitely contributors. Here’s what’s up:

1. A collection of fantasy novels.

Recently, a group of eight authors put out a collection called To Die For with the intent of helping new readers discover their work and using the power of the group to promote the collection (read a little bit more about it here on GalleyCat). I would like to do a similar thing with other writers in the fantasy genre, so I am looking for 7 or 8 authors like myself who self-publish fantasy. Any sub-genre of fantasy is fine, in fact I think a bit of a mix would be good, but for it to be worth each contributor’s time, you should have a minimum of three books out, either in a series or all fantasy, at the very least.  I would also require that the average rating of the book be a minimum of 4 stars. Other than providing your formatted book, the only thing I will require from any participants is a willingness to promote the collection any way they can.

Cost? Nothing. I will pay for any expenses incurred up front with the understanding that I am paid back first before any profits are shared.

How will profits be shared? To be discussed, but I imagine a small percentage to my self-publishing company off the top, then an equal split.

If you are interested, please email me at bruceblake (at) hotmail (dot) ca

2. NetGalley Co-op

Another project I want to put together is a NetGalley co-op. If you haven’t heard of NetGalley, they are a site that connects professional readers (bloggers, book reviewers, librarians, educators, etc.) with authors. The service is available to individual authors for a cost of $399, which gives you membership for 6 months and the ability to post one book. There is also an option to create a co-operative of 20 authors…this drops the price to about $300 each, allows a full year and an unlimited number of books for each author. I bumped into this on a discussion thread on KBoards, so maybe have a read through that for a better explanation (find it here).

While this is often thought of as a way to collect reviews for ARCs, published books are also allowed. From what I’ve seen so far, this is a great opportunity to get books reviewed by prominent bloggers/reviewers. With promotion being tied more and more to the number of reviews a book has and its average star ratings, and Amazon frowning on authors trading honest reviews, we need to look elsewhere for solutions, and this may be a good one. I think that authors with more than one book they can offer for review over the course of the year will see the best results for their investment.

I am in no way connected with NetGalley nor compensated by them, so I will be taking the same risk as anyone else involved. Take the time to read the thread and, again, contact me at bruceblake(at)hotmail(dot)ca if you’re interested.

So…who wants to play?

—–

 

2 thoughts on “Attention Authors: Opportunity Knocks!

Leave a Reply

