Building a Story

For those of you who may not follow the Guild of Dreams blog, here’s my latest post in which I’m dabbling with a horror short story. Let me know what you think.

Guild Of Dreams

by Bruce Blake

—–

A pleasant thing happened to me the other day…one of those things that all writers have experienced, but want to have happen more frequently.

A story began to form in my head.

'Prospector' by ToOliver2 courtesy of Creative Commons ‘Prospector’ by ToOliver2 courtesy of Creative Commons

It came out of no where, opening before me like a rolled carpet careening down a hill. It was only a few lines to begin with, but the more I turned them over in my head, inspecting them  with the keen eye of a prospector determining the value of a nugget, the more it stuck, grew, developed.

This is how it started in my head:

It was Friday, April 13th the day they locked the door; none of us knew when it would open again. If it ever would.

I liked it. Two quick sentences to set up some questions in the reader’s head–who was being locked…

View original post 920 more words

One thought on “Building a Story

  1. I had a story come to me like that a few years ago in somewhat the same usual way. I knew the characters, their names and back stories, even the most important elements to the story. The problem was that the story was a YA Paranormal type, which is something I didn’t know how to write then or now. I still have the story, but I know it is one that I will never be able to write, not the way I believe it should be written. But then again, you never know. :o)

Leave a Reply

